Tuesday, 22 June 2021

Copyright Public Modernization Committee announced by the Library of Congress

 The Library of Congress has announced the members of the new Copyright Public Modernization Committee (CPMC), which includes several librarians:  

Todd CarpenterNational Information Standards Organization
Wahaj ChaudhryAmazon.com
Susan ChertkofRecording Industry Association of America
Brewster KahleInternet Archive
Roy KaufmanCopyright Clearance Center
Keith KupferschmidCopyright Alliance
Melissa LevineUniversity of Michigan Library
Pamela MalpasAssociation of American Literary Agents; Copyright Committee co-chair
Micah MayDigital Public Library of America
James NealColumbia University Librarian Emeritus, ALA, ACRL
Kathleen RodriguezWarner Media
Jeff SedlikPicture Licensing Universal System (PLUS) Coalition
Scott WeingartCarnegie Mellon University Libraries

The reason the Committee is being convened is "to expand and enhance communication with external stakeholders on IT modernization of Copyright Office systems" and "to enhance communication and provide a public forum for the technology-related aspects of the U.S. Copyright Office’s modernization initiative."   
The first public meeting of the committee is a virtual meeting scheduled for Thursday, July 22 from 1-4 pm. The meeting is free and open to the public, but participants must register here in advance
According to the announcement, "Register of Copyrights Shira Perlmutter and Library of Congress Chief Information Officer Bud Barton will provide opening remarks and Library subject-matter experts will provide an update on the development of ECS and other modernization efforts. Attendees will have an opportunity to hear directly from CPMC members and participate in a live Q&A. The meeting will be recorded and made available for viewing after the event."

No comments: